Webmaster and SEO Blog (home)
New Comments Webmaster and SEO Blog RSS Feed

'Google Adwords under Phishing Attack'

Favorite Posts:
, web design: Why Flash is Disgusting





Interact
  • Facebook This
  • Tweet This
  • Post a Blog (Write for us)
  • Ask a Question
      View Questions
5091

Related Ebooks:
5091

Related Resources
5091

Other Resources
5091

Tags

Previous Posts

Blog Roll:


news Google Adwords under Phishing Attack; Webmaster and SEO Blog
Top Searches: • http adwords google com select login • adwords google com select login • to your account at http adwords google com select login • adwords attack • please sign in to your account at http adwords google com select login • dear google adwords customer • reactivate your adwords google account • google adword attack • google adwords attack • please sign in to your account at http adwords google com select login and update your payment information • google pishing • https adwords google com select login • adwords noreply • adwords google com select login • adwords google select login • google adwords attack • 2025 graystone lakes • google phishing attack • searchboxadwords google com select login • adwords attack • trick of phishing attack on google • href http adwords google com http adwords google com • google adwords phishing attack • adwords noreply google com • adwords noreply google com • is http adwords google com select login valid • schemas microsoft com office word google webmaster • google adwords phishing message chinese • why are my emails arriving phishing • adword attack • noreply google com phone text • china google attack phish •
Previous (Newer) PostNext (Older) Post

Google Adwords under Phishing Attack

By Wilbur Corncob at 03/28/08 06:48

I started getting a whole slew of messages from "google" about my "adwords account". There was a couple problems with the messages right off the bat. I haven't been using adwords for quite sometime, so there is no worry about having not paid them. Second, the emails were arriving on many different email addresses of mine, none of which were ever connecte to my adwords account.

Most importantly, my email program shows the domains of all websites references within an email BEFORE I open the message:


google.com w3.org ad039k.cn Thu Mar 27 17:35:17 2008
From: adwords-noreply@google.com
Subject: Please Re-activate your account

It seemed odd that Google would send an email with an off the wall domain registered in China. The each different email had a different chinese domain in it. Just from that information I knew the message was a phishing attempt.

An examination of the message also clearly showed the attempt. I view all emails as plain text, not html. This keeps things looking "ugly", but saves you some making a stupid mistake. Let's look at the text of these messgaes. I've changed the html tags to use ['s here for clarity. I've added some bold face to the message here.

The message was sent in text format, followed by html. In my email program I view it all as text, and see the HTML codes.

In the text version at the top, a url is given to login to adwords: http://adwords.google.com/select/login . If you cut and pasted that url, you'd actually arrive at the Google, adwords login prompt.

In the html version, which most email programs would render as HTML, is you wouldn't see the tags, but the links... there are "two links":

http://adwords.google.com.ad039k.cn/select/Login/ which is actually in the HTML href tag and the website you would get if you clicked the link, and http://adwords.google.com/select/login which would show as the underlined link text.

On first glance, in an HTML based email program you would think clicking the link would take you to Google's website site. That's the idea and the trick. Instead you end up on ad039k.cn, which seems to have IP addresses in many different countries.

You can be sure whatever is done on THAT website, which I suspect is visually the same as Google's adword site, will result in your adwords login information being stolen as well any payment information you enter.


This message was sent from a notification-only email address that does not accept incoming email. Please do not reply to this message. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dear Google AdWords Customer,

Please sign in to your account at http://adwords.google.com/select/login , and update your billing information. Your account will be reactivated as soon as you update your payment information. Your ads will show immediately if you decide to pay for clicks via credit or debit card. If you decide to pay by direct debit, we may need to receive your signed debit authorization before your ads start running, depending on your location. If you choose bank transfer, your ads will show as soon as we receive your first payment.

We look forward to providing you with the most effective advertising available.

Sincerely,

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------- The Google AdWords Team

------=_NextPart_000_0006_01C89041.DAE87300 Content-Type: text/html; charset="iso-8859-1" Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable

[html xmlns:v="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:vml" xmlns:o="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" xmlns:w="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:word" xmlns="http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-html40"]

[head] [META HTTP-EQUIV="Content-Type" CONTENT="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1"]

[meta name=ProgId content=Word.Document] [meta name=Generator content="Microsoft Word 10"] [meta name=Originator content="Microsoft Word 10"] [link rel=File-List href="cid:filelist.xml@{nHEX}.{nHEX}"] [link rel=Edit-Time-Data href="cid:editdata.mso@{nHEX}.{nHEX}"] [/head] [body] This message was sent from a notification-only email address that does[br] not accept incoming email. Please do not reply to this message.[br] --------------------------------------------------------------------------------[br][br]

Dear Google AdWords Customer,[br][br]

Please sign in to your account at [a href="http://adwords.google.com.ad039k.cn/select/Login/" target="_blank"]http://adwords.google.com/select/login[/a] , and update your billing information.[br] Your account will be reactivated as soon as you update your payment information.[br] Your ads will show immediately if you decide to pay for clicks via credit [br] or debit card. If you decide to pay by direct debit, we may need to receive[br] your signed debit authorization before your ads start running, [br] depending on your location.[br] If you choose bank transfer, your ads will show as soon as we receive your[br] first payment. [br][br][br]

We look forward to providing you with the most effective advertising available.[br][br]

Sincerely,[br][br][br]

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------[br][br] The Google AdWords Team [/body] [/html]

------=_NextPart_000_0006_01C89041.DAE87300--

News Digest Blog
Tags: • - Permalink
Previous (Newer) PostNext (Older) Post

Comments


Comment #1 Jon Warner at 06/01/08 23:08
How do I stop this bogus e-mail?

To: csicustomerservice@cannonsports.com

Subject: CSI Customer service

From: "Google@gmail.com"

CSI Customer service

Customer Account #:

Customer Invoice #: Date Requested: 2008-05-31

Customer P.O. #

Customer P.O. Date:

Bill To Name Google

Street

City

State CT Zip

Ship To Name Google

Street 2025 Graystone Lakes

City Moskow

State OR Zip GA 31009

Requested by: Google

Telephone #

email #: Google@gmail.com

If you do not wish to receive similar messages please inform us on it by mail ban.site[dog]gmail.com

Comment #2 Reeka at 10/24/09 05:26

I am impressed by your blog and I'l love your blog.

Thinking about making a comment on this blog post? Great! But please remember that this space is for just that, comments about this blog post. It is not a place to post random thoughts about other stuff. We found that most of the "comments" posted here are not comments at all and should have really been posted in our forum. So:

  • If you have something to say that's not exactly a comment on this blog post, please post it on the Webmaster and SEO Blog Forum
  • If you are just planning to spam... go away as all the comments are premoderated
  • Have something to actually say about this blog post, please submit your comment here:
Leave a comment:

We welcome your comments on this post in the Webmaster and SEO Blog. That means a comment on this post, not something about some other topic.

Name:     (required)
Email:    (required, not published)
Comment:
         


Note: Your comment will be immediately submitted and you will have no opportunity to review to edit it.

It is recommend that you register on Webmaster and SEO Blog and login so you can include full html (ie: links). We don't have a chapta because we think we're smarter than the spambots.



20080328-054827-Google-Adwords-under-Phishing-Attack

* com * top 100 * 10 * 5091 * Blog * Espanol *

Have you added a link to us from your website? (5091):

  • <a href="http://blog.glrsales.com">Webmaster and SEO Blog</a>
news Google Adwords under Phishing Attack; Webmaster and SEO Blog

Web site copyright (c) 2007-2010 GLR Sales LLC.




Twitter: @techjungle -- (rozwqizwpwzwqq)

Privacy & DMCA Policy -- Those who twitter us!
20080328-054827-Google-Adwords-under-Phishing-Attack adwords 'Google Adwords under Phishing Attack'